Culture and the Arts Entertainment

Benilde film earns CMMA nod

By Seymour Barros Sanchez

A THESIS film project from the Digital Filmmaking program of the De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde was nominated for Best Short Film at the 40th Catholic Mass Media Awards.

“Saranggola” (Kite), directed by Cielo Bagabaldo and Gloria Mae Soriano, tells the story of Mica (Erika Clemente), a seven-year-old child who lives in the province with her parents. Her father, Michael (Lawrence Roxas), is an overseas Filipino worker and is about to leave again. Michael, not wanting to make her daughter worry, gives her a list of things to do while he is abroad. He promises that if she finishes all those, he will come back right away. The last item on the list is to create a kite and to make it fly. Jennifer Dadivas plays the role of Mica’s mother.

“Comfort Room” from UST Angelicum College, Inc. eventually won Best Short Film during the awards night held last November 14 at Star Theater, Cultural Center of the Philippines Complex.

Although “Saranggola” did not bring home the award, Benilde film alumna Bagabaldo made her parents doubly proud when they attended the awards night with her. She shared that their capstone project would like to show that “Behind every great daughter is a truly amazing father.”

Meanwhile, the Benildean Press Corps, DLS-CSB’s official student-journalists’ organization, bagged the Best Student Literary Publication for “Shades of Gray: Convalescence,” the official literary folio of Benildean students.

CMMA, which was established in 1978 by the late Jaime Cardinal Sin and organized by the Archdiocese of Manila, recognizes students, professionals, and organizations that promote Christian values among Filipinos through media communication.


BD Admin: You think your friends gonna like this piece? If you do, kindly share it. Thanks.
Seymour Barros Sanchez
Seymour Barros Sanchez is an advocacy filmmaker, communication and film professor, freelance writer, and producer for news and current affairs programs. He is a fellow of the 17th Lopez Jaena Community Journalism Workshop (organized by the University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication), 21st Iligan National Writers Workshop(organized by the Mindanao State University – Iligan Institute of Technology) and 9th Palihang Rogelio Sicat (organized by the UP Departamento ng Filipino at Panitikan ng Pilipinas). He is also a graduate of the 14th Ricky Lee scriptwriting workshop for film and the first Brillante Mendoza film workshop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.