Events News

Philippine National Police Gallantry Awardees honored

Photo ©

THE National Police Commission on Friday has honored 11 Gallantry Awardees of the Philippine National Police during its 52nd Founding Anniversary.

Led by the Guest of Honor and Speaker, Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra, NAPOLCOM officials presented the awards to eight courageous (8) cops who defended their station against an attack by the communist-led New People’s Army in a police station in Misamis Oriental. Three (3) heroic police officers who died in action will also be honored with posthumous awards.

NAPOLCOM Vice Chairman Rogelio Casurao. Image © NAPOLCOM PID

NAPOLCOM Vice-Chairman and Executive Officer Atty. Rogelio T. Casurao said the PNP Gallantry Award is given to deserving uniformed personnel of the PNP who displayed conspicuous courage and gallantry in the performance of their duties.

Plaques of commendation will be presented to the eight (8) members of the Binuangan Municipal Police Station, Misamis Oriental Provincial Police Office (PPO) – P/Chief Insp. Dante T. Hallazgo, Senior Police Officer 4 Lorimer Z. Cabil, SPO1 Ramonito M. Zambas, PO3 Alberto A. Bernadas, PO3 Crispin H. Dalugdug, PO2 Necil O. Japuz, PO1 Joshua G. Satur and PO1 Laila S. Gumahin – for their exceptional bravery and steadfast dedication to duty in standing their ground and defending their post against the attack of more than 200 NPA rebels who tried to burn their station on wee hours of December 3, 2017.

P/Senior Insp. Jimmy L. Senonin, former Deputy Chief of Cainta Police Station, Rizal PPO; will be honored with a posthumous award for his exceptional bravery and self-sacrifice while leading the Cainta Intelligence team and other police personnel in an armed encounter against a notorious criminal group involved in drug trafficking, robbery and gun-for-hire in a dark alley along Westbank Road, Barangay San Andres on February 11, 2018.

Senonin defended the lives of his men thereby exhibiting a lofty sense of patriotism and gallantry in the face of peril worthy of highest honor not only from the police organization but from the Filipino nation.

PO3 Joseph L. Tupue and PO2 Eva Torcelino, members of the Viga Police Station, Catanduanes PPO, will also be honored with a posthumous award for their personal bravery and self-sacrifice in the rescue operation of their fellow officers when the NPA rebels ambushed the police convoy carrying 10 Surrendered Drug Users (SDUs) on August 10, 2017 along the national road at Brgy. Sagrada.

Tupue and Torcelino courageously fought and engaged the enemy despite being outnumbered and outgunned which resulted in their untimely death.

“The act of bravery of these police officers displayed the extraordinary courage and professionalism in a circumstance of peril and exemplary performance beyond the call of duty is worthy of emulation among their fellow officers in the police service and uplifts the image of the Philippine National Police,” Casurao said, adding that “This clearly manifests their commitment to serve and protect the people.”


BD Admin: You think your friends gonna like this piece? If you do, kindly share it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.