2017 CCP Virgin LabFest writing fellows named

Image © CCP-VLF2017

THE Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) on Friday announced the list of 10 fellows accepted for next month’s Virgin Labfest 13 Writing Fellowship Program.

The fellows for the July 4 to 16 fellowship are: Geene Sabrina Basilio, Trisha Marie Contreras, Patricia Isabel Lucido, Gerald Manuel, Angelito Nambatac Jr., Lloyd Alcedric Rano Opalec, Anna Bettina Petrasanta, Miko Jan Portes, Manuel Luis Pedro Tinio, and Maria Amparo Warren,

“The Virgin Labfest 13 Writing Fellowship Program is a two-week mentorship program on the study and practice of dramatic writing for the stage. The program is part of the CCP’s desire to train young aspiring playwrights,” the CCP said.

It consists of lectures, script critiquing, writing sessions, and interactions with established playwrights, directors, and selected actors.

Fellows are to be mentored by Ateneo Prof. Glenn Sevilla Mas, an award-winning playwright.

They will have access to all Virgin Labfest 13 plays and selected rehearsals as part of the program.

The fellowship program also includes the staged reading of the fellows’ works to be directed by Dennis Marasigan. The staged readings will be held on July 16 at the CCP Bulwagang Amado Hernandez at 6 pm, and open to the public.

The Virgin Labfest 13 Writing Fellowship Program is a project of the CCP Artist Training Division of the CCP Arts Education Department.

(For further inquiries, kindly email the ccp.artist.training@gmail.com or call 832-1125 local 1605.

Ibarra C. Mateo
A journalist since 1983, Ibarra C. Mateo is also an editor, a researcher, and a communication consultant.

One Reply to “2017 CCP Virgin LabFest writing fellows named

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.