LA Mayor Garcetti easily wins reelection


Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti Photo ©

LOS Angeles, California — Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti breezed through his reelection on Tuesday (March 7), garnering around 80 percent of the votes as counting draws to a close.

Garcetti’s lopsided win happened despite a large slate of challengers that included artists, activists, writers and educators. A total of 10 candidates ran to try unseat Garcetti but despite the abundance of choices, it failed to motivate more voters to go to the polling precincts.

Those who ran against the LA mayor were Mitchell Schwartz, Paul E. Amori, David Hernandez, Yuval Kremer, Dennis Richter, Frantz Pierre, Eric Preven, David “Zuma Dogg” Saltsburg, YJ Draiman and Diane “Pinky” Harman.

The low voter turnout has been obvious early on the day of the elections. 

Violet Prudencio, a Filipino American poll worker, said Tuesday’s atmosphere was in no way near the activity in that place during the presidential elections last November.

Nagbubukas pa lang ang presinto may mga nakapila na,” Prudencio recalled.

On Tuesday, according to Prudencio, voters’ attendance only came in trickles during the day.

They (voters) only begin arriving after office hours. Siguro dahil galing sa mga trabaho nila,” Prudencio added.

Poll workers attend to voters at the Filipino American Community of Los Angeles (FACLA) headquarters at Temple Street, Los Angeles on Tuesday Photo © Abner Galino

The LA Times, quoting Los Angeles County registrar of voters Dean Logan, reported Tuesday’s election “is likely to break another record for low voter turnout in an L.A. mayor’s race.”

Logan expects the final turnout will fall 1 or 2 percentage points below the record low of 17.9% of registered voters in 2009, when Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa won reelection,” the LA Times reported.

The City Council incumbents also posted lopsided leads over their respective opponents. Among those expected to retain their posts were Gil Cedillo, Paul Koretz, Curren Price, Mike Bonnin, Mitch O’farrel and Joe Buscaino.

According to the LA Times, “the city’s elected officials normally serve four-year terms. But because of a shift in the election calendar, winners of this year’s elections will serve 5½ years. Starting in 2020, city elections will coincide with state and federal elections.”

City Attorney Mike Feuer and Controller Ron Galperin both ran unopposed.


Abner Galino
The author is a poet and a writer. He was a cultural worker before he became a reporter for Tinig ng Masa and Malaya Midday Edition during the Marcos regime. He later became a reporter of People's Tonight shortly after 1986 EDSA Revolution. He went on to become its Chief of Reporters, City Editor and News Editor. He retired after 15 years in the Journal Group of Publications. He now writes for Weekend Balita and the US Asian Post (USAP), weekly Filipino-American newspapers based in Los Angeles, California.

One Reply to “LA Mayor Garcetti easily wins reelection

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.